jump to navigation

Minor aggravations January 15, 2007

Posted by jfoust in General.
trackback
  1. Why do playoff football games drag on for so long? I can remember, once upon a time growing up in the Midwest, that you could count on the first game starting at noon and the second at three, ending a little after six at the latest. Yesterday, the first game started a little after one (Eastern time), and the second game ended well after eight. Imagine my conundrum as 8 pm approached: do I keep watching the Pats-Chargers game (tied at 21 at that point) and miss the beginning of 24, or miss the ending of the game so I could catch all of 24? In the end I did neither: I set up my TiVo to record 24, then turned the TV off so I could listen to the rest of the game on the radio. Not ideal, but seeing (er, hearing) the Pats win, and then watching 24 this morning, made up for the inconvenience.
  2. Jiffy Lube is not so jiffy. I took advantage of the day off Monday to take my car in for an oil change, and ended up spending 90 minutes there. (There were a number of people ahead of me, but the 20-25 minutes they said it would take to service my car stretched to 45-50.) And to top it all off, the upholstery on the inside of the driver’s side door had dirty handprints from whomever had been working on it. It took some scrubbing with a carpet cleaner once I got home to clean up that mess…
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

